The Art of Reduction

13 May

If there’s anything we are all no strangers to, it’s the struggle we face when trying to teach our elders how to use a computer, an iPod or the TV remote control, but what if we went back in time ourselves to learn how to relax?

The art of relaxing doesn’t come freely these days; it’s all high-tech and shiny, expensive and complicated. The idea of going for a stroll in the park might as well be copyrighted to Skechers and to read an actual book would be unthinkable if it meant the Kindle edition wasn’t available. Must everything be an upgrade of what it was? Not according to Georgia Barney, a teenage sketch artist who prefers far less aggro in her down time.

Georgia explains: “I sit up at the table for up to three hours at a time with a clear space around me, with the radio on low in the background.”

Having just turned 16 years old in April, Georgia proves a refreshing example of how simple life can be:

“In that time (up at the table) I focus on one thing and block all other problems out and just relax – I won’t stop until I’m completely satisfied with my drawing. Only then will I return back to reality!”

She continues, “It’s kind of unusual; I don’t know many people who draw anymore as you can ‘paint’ and ‘draw’ when using all of today’s technology! Personally, I don’t think it gives the same effect as putting pencil to paper.”

We asked Georgia to show us her favourite three drawings and to tell us what inspired her to finish each one. Even her reasoning is short and sweet:

fish

“I spent the day with my Dad fishing. I used multi-colours to represent the emotions of our relationship.”

lady

“This drawing represents new experiences and new life. I’ve never been pregnant but my life has dramatically changed and I still do not know what will happen in my next chapters.”

skull

“My Great Nan died in 2010. She was a beautiful lady and she always wore red lipstick which matches the roses.”

Taking time for you is a rarity in today’s daily chaos but we all know it’s vital for our health and sanity. The words ‘recession’ and ‘stress’ are so over-used they are almost unrecognisable, so why bother making such a fuss? When was the last time you pursued an activity purely for the sheer enjoyment of just doing it? Vintage hobbies are back and not a day too soon.

Leave a Reply

