Young’uns of the Week – Sister Act: Abbie & Ellis Sontag

8 Apr

As you are probably getting to know by now, here on Obsessed With Them I am featuring inspiring young people every single week. Last week Kane Surry gave us a little insight to the working life of an aspiring actor and the week before Katie Valentine shared her struggles of juggling children, studies, volunteer work and big ambitions! Nothing brings us kids down, though, and this week we have twin-spiration from Abbie and Ellis Sontag. They’re not actually twins but it sounded good…here’s their stories:

Name: Abbie Sontag                                                              Name: Ellis Sontag
Age: 23                                                                                      Age: 20
Location: Harlow, Essex                                                       Location: Harlow, too!
Current Job: Travel Agent                                                   Current Job: Waitress

Dream Job: I’m working my dream job: Travel agent!  Dream Job: Hairdresser

abbi and ellis

Abbie:

Growing up I was raised by my extremely hard working single mum. She always worked and taught us from a young age things don’t just get handed to you, you need to work really hard for them. At 16 when I left school I didn’t want to continue in education and wanted to get out there and gain experience & earn some money. I had loved the idea of a job in the travel industry and set about applying. I was lucky enough to get a job in Thomson and even though it was a low salary I thought it was the experience I needed. It confirmed what I thought anyway – that I wanted a long and successful career within Travel. I was made redundant a year after being there and in the years to follow I had to travel to Hertford, Barnet & Basildon (from Harlow) just to remain in the industry. Jobs are few and far between and I was just grateful to have one. It was tough though, my salary was still low and travel costs were making money tight. It was January 2011 when a friend told me about a job vacancy in Old Street, London. I was nervous as I’d never considered working in the city before but my family told me just to go for it. I got offered the job and loved being a city girl from the start. I am so lucky my job has allowed me to travel so much: I had never even been on a plane until I was 14 but since then I have been to Australia, New Zealand, Thailand, the Caribbean, Dubai & lots of America. I love every second. In the last year it has been my main focus to save hard & save enough for a deposit on a house. I have finally done it!! It feels amazing to have saved every penny myself especially because my family aren’t in a position to help me as much as they’d love too. When I was younger I thought this kind of travelling and to own my own house were practically impossible for someone like me. But I always was very ambitious and wanted to work hard to make things happen. I’m so glad it’s finally all paying off 🙂

Ellis:

 After leaving school I wasn’t interested in furthering my education and drifted from job to job. Then at 16, I discovered I was pregnant and 3 months into my pregnancy I lost my job! I then struggled through whilst being pregnant and knew this wasn’t how I wanted to live once I had my daughter. So as soon as she was born I started applying for jobs then the opportunity came up for me to work in a coffee shop; I jumped at the opportunity as it was flexible hours around my daughter and a regular wage. At first I was just happy to be back at work and providing for my daughter but I knew it wasn’t what I wanted to do long term. I had always been interested in hair so that’s when I decided to go to college and study hairdressing. It was a hard decision as it meant me working 3 days and doing college 3 days as well as a lot of homework in the evenings while looking after my daughter but it’s all been worth it as I’ve recently qualified as a hairdresser! I now want to take it even further by going back and studying my level 3 next year! After being a pregnant 16 year old I never thought I’d accomplish what I have! I passed my driving test, bought a car, I have a job and am now a qualified hairdresser. I am also now able to save money for mine and (my daughter) Ruby’s future and hope things will continue to get even better

Useful links:

Thomson & First Choice (TUI UK) Recruitment Opportunities

Volunteer Travel Holidays

Becoming a Hairdresser

Hairdressing Apprenticeships

Hairdressers Journal

You don’t have to be an aspiring rock star with superstar experience under your belt to feature as my Young’un of the Week! If you are working your arse off to get where you want to be in life then get in touch! We’re all in this together and the we rarely get media coverage when we do something right! Tweet me @sheldan2207 or comment below!

Leave a Reply

