Young’un of the Week – Kane Surry

2 Apr

kane

“Everyone knows that it’s a cliché to say, “I’ve dreamed of being an actor since I was little” – but in my case it doesn’t stop it from being true. My name is Kane Surry and I’ve dreamed of being an actor since I was little, and I’ve worked extremely hard over the past decade to make that dream a reality.

The acting profession is notoriously tough; it’s a job that involves a bit of hope and a huge amount of rejection…not to mention the fact that it, like everywhere else, has suffered from the recession so the opportunities are less than ever.

This I know about acting and everyone knows it (although it’s never put me off) but made me more determined to succeed and carry on working. I’m actually amazed that I’ve got this far because I have a tendency to be flaky in nearly every other aspect of my life but when it comes to my professional acting career I’ve never stop aiming higher.

I was always a hyper child with a very big imagination but when I got to secondary school I was a bit lost because I was crap at football (which was like a crime at my school) and I was a pretty average student.

I wanted to stand out though, always have done, but didn’t really know how too.

I was bullied which knocked my confidence in my early secondary school days so it was only when I was around 16 years old that I found the confidence to do my first school play and I thought it was what I wanted to be known as – an actor!

I got the lead and I was playing a cocky intern at a teenage magazine who used the agony aunt section to meet girls and it really brought me out of my shell and got what I’d aimed for: I’d stood out as an actor at school.

When applying for drama school for the first time when I was 17 I really messed it up. I got way too cocky and applied to all the best schools, thinking I was Marlon Brando and not preparing properly but thinking I was going to breeze it. Did I breeze it? Did I shite!!

Nowhere took me on and rightly so, I hadn’t done enough, didn’t know enough and wasn’t humble enough.

That was a shock that I didn’t understand at first but then I had to re-evaluate and be honest with myself. I’d missed out that year and I was gutted but it was my own fault.

I spent my next two gap years trying to be a better actor; I doomed a one year course which was privately funded. I nearly didn’t go but am eternally grateful to the sacrifices that were made for me and afterwards I realised how much they went without just so that I could go. I wasn’t going to let them down so I got my head down and took in all I was taught.

I eventually got into drama school at the Central School of Speech and Drama – one of the best in the world. I couldn’t believe it when the letter came through and I just couldn’t wait to start.

One thing that shocked me in my time there was how middle class a profession acting is. I come from a working class background and a big family and thought that if you were talented the opportunities were for everyone but at Central there were often times that I felt slightly alienated because of my background and this made me lean towards pretending I was more middle class to fit in: Drama school is a bubble and it’s when you leave that you realise the diversity is there and you have to know and embrace every aspect of yourself because that is what you’re selling. I may not be wealthy (yet) and I don’t speak R.P. but there is a market there for me.

I have a lovely agent who works extremely hard for me but I always do what I can to see if I can get opportunities for myself. I apply to online ads even if the work isn’t paid; I go to press nights of big shows so that I can network and talk to casting directors and other actors, etc. I also keep myself up to date with what’s on the television and in theatres and keep up to date with who is casting what and where they are going next. It’s all progressive and can seem hopeless at times but so worth it when it comes through.

I’m determined more than anything to make my career work: Since leaving drama school in June I’ve been lucky enough to work on two Shakespeare plays, some co-operate work and I start a film next month but all the time I want to do more and I’m always aiming for bigger and better things.

I’m looking forward to the day I can say: “Eastenders? I was in that before I did that ITV drama but I only did the two series as I got ordered to do a great new play at The Royal Court.”

Big dreams but I want to make them happen.”

To get in touch with Kane you can tweet him @KaneSurry or comment below.

Every week on Obsessed With Them I feature a seriously inspiring young person working hard to reach for their dream job! From plumbers to librarians, teachers to actors I will be featuring everyone that wasn’t born with a silver spoon in their mouths! If you’re on your way up and want your time in the spotlight – or want to inspire others, or just want a slither of recognition then GET IN TOUCH!

We’re all in this together.

Relative Links:

“Breaking into Acting”

“The Acting Website”

“Free Online Acting School”

“Industry Tips”

“Amateur Dramatics Explained”

Leave a Reply

