Keep Fightin’, Stay Inspired!

30 May

Reading local stories online at the Welwyn & Hatfield Times online newspaper today I stumbled across a story that I thought I’d share.

http://www.whtimes.co.uk/news/blind_potters_bar_golfer_crowned_champion_1_1388465

A blind local man called Pieta has WON a golf tournament with ambitions to travel to Canada to take part in the World Blind Golf Championships.

What a guy!

I don’t want this article to sound patronising in any way but I feel quite inspired hearing his story! He is guided round each course by his caddy-wife Elmarie and together they make a winning team, despite Pieta’s blindness.

I am Diabetic and have moments when it can get too much for me, even though I’ve lived with the condition for nearly eight years. Reading this story has reminded me that I’m not the only one living with a condition that may or may not prevent me doing the things I want to do.

So, with this in mind, I vow to do more for Diabetes UK, the charity dedicated to helping everyone with Diabetes. In November I’ve signed up to do the ‘London Bridges Challenge’ which is an eight mile hike starting in Chelsea and ending at Tower Bridge. You cross all of London’s famous bridges on the way and raise money for the charity as well. I’ll soon be posting a link where you can sponsor me online. Every penny counts!

Anyway, I hope this has helped anyone else who also suffers from any condition whether it is Diabetes or something else… don’t let it stop you from doing what you want!

xx Stay Strong xx

Leave a Reply

